Apps & Software

Top 3 Things You Should Know About The CMMC Different Levels

More companies have paid attention to the cybersecurity maturity model certification (CMMC) since it was first announced in January 2020. You might already know a bit about this. If you don’t, however, you mightn’t know how it could apply to you.

If your company wants to work with the United States government, especially beyond 2026, then you’ll need to pay more attention to this. You’ll need to know what this certification is, alongside what you’ll need to do to get it.

Essentially, this is an effort to standardize cybersecurity measures across companies and industries. As such, any companies that want to work with the government will need this certification. That certification is spread across five levels, all of which have varying criteria.

You might already know a bit about what these levels are. If so, you might already know how an IT company can help your business be CMMC compliant. If not, you can find out more about them here.

Beyond that, you might want to know a few things about the different CMMC levels.

What Do You Need To Know About The Different CMMC Levels

What Is The Maturity Model?

The first thing you’ll need to know is what a maturity model is. These are seen across multiple industries and are the best practices that smaller companies aspire to. They’re typically already implemented by more successful, mature firms, hence the name.

The maturity model involves committing to meeting and improving these best practices. That could focus on multiple areas, including food production, security, and much more.

What Is Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification?

You might wonder what cybersecurity maturity model certification is. In short, this is a program designed by the United States Department of Defense to measure contractors’ cybersecurity.

With this, the DoD looks to improve the security and surety of data possessed by contractors that it’s affiliated with. Certification is rated across five levels, with higher-level companies being noted for their cybersecurity readiness, capabilities, and sophistication.

Multiple compliance companies that can help you achieve this.

Who Does It Apply To?

You’ll want to know whether CMMC requirements apply to you. As it stands, it applies to prime contractors that work with the Department of Defense, alongside those who work with these contractors. If you fall into either of these categories, you’ll need to be compliant.

The same can be said for companies who want to work with the government. The DoD has indicated that it will work with firms that fall into all levels. While measures are already being implemented to only work with CMMC-compliant companies, only these firms will be eligible from 2026 onward.

If your company intends on working with the government, then you’ll need to be CMMC compliant. There’ll be multiple reasons why you should do so beyond it being mandatory. With that, you’ll need to know how an IT company can help your business be CMMC compliant.

They’ll help you meet all of the criteria for each of the levels you want to meet. Armed with this, you’ll be free to focus on your products and service’s quality. That will then increase your chances of obtaining government contracts.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button